Do you accept the use of cookies to ensure a better experience on our website?

Learn more

OIKOPOLIS

The OIKOPOLIS Luxembourg group has its origin in the cooperative Bio-Bauere-Genossenschaft Lëtzebuerg (BIOG), founded in 1988. The latter lies at the very heart of the whole group and its extended network.

Within the OIKOPOLIS network, other companies that produce and market organic foods are affiliated to a parent company through shareholdings. Additionally, various cooperative alliances link the companies to each other.

OIKO_Zentrum_Luftbild_schmal

This networking reflects the approach of the founders, who wished to act in an associative way, that is by creating associations or mergers at various levels in the value creation chain, even if these levels do not coexist directly, for example wholesale and retail. Communication plays an essential role in this concept. In contrast with the limitations of the conventional economy, in the associative economy communication is not confined to bilateral negotiations, for example between the producer and the processor, or to ad hoc contacts, for example between the salesperson in store and the end customer. On the contrary, it brings together all the partners in the value creation chain and invites open exchange between them, from the producer to the consumer, who becomes a responsible user thanks to the transparency that prevails within this circle. You can find more information on these practices on the “fair & associative” page.

When it comes to entrepreneurship, associative cohesion manifests itself as cooperation between existing companies, but it has a quite tangible impact on the structure: the elements missing in the circle are completed by a common initiative. Thanks to this cooperative network, solidarity is strengthened all along the value creation chain, from the organic farmers to the end customer, through all the stages of processing and marketing. Cooperative solidarity therefore literally extends “from field to fork”. Support for this form of association was and is a clear objective of the BIOG founders and of all the ensuing marketing initiatives for organic products.

The physical hub of these group and network initiatives is the OIKOPOLIS centre in Munsbach. Its name embodies the community spirit described above. It links two concepts of ancient Greek and a mission for the future: “Oikos” (domestic and economic community) and “Polis”, an ancient form of community of citizens.

OIKO2_Draufsicht_bearb_bann

"Whether I can help, I do not know;
A single person does not help, but only,
who unites with many at the right hour."

« The green snake and the beautiful lily » , Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies, um ein besseres Erlebnis auf unserer Website zu gewährleisten?

Erfahren sie mehr

OIKOPOLIS

Die OIKOPOLIS-Gruppe Luxemburg geht zurück auf die 1988 gegründete Bio-Bauere-Genossenschaft Lëtzebuerg (BIOG). Sie ist Keimzelle und Herzstück der gesamten Gruppe und des erweiterten OIKOPOLIS-Netzwerks.

In diesem Netzwerk sind weitere Betriebe der biologischen Lebensmittelerzeugung und -vermarktung durch Beteiligungsverhältnisse mit einer Dachgesellschaft verknüpft. Zudem verbinden vielfältige Kooperationen die Betriebe auch untereinander.

OIKO_Zentrum_Luftbild_schmal

Die Vernetzung entspricht dem Ansatz der Gründer, assoziativ zu wirtschaften, also Assoziationen bzw. Zusammenschlüsse verschiedener Wertschöpfungsstufen zu bilden, auch wenn diese nicht unmittelbar benachbart sind wie etwa Groß- und Einzelhandel. Kommunikation spielt bei diesem Konzept eine wesentliche Rolle. Anders als in der konventionellen Ökonomie beschränkt sie sich beim Assoziativen Wirtschaften nicht auf bilaterale Verhandlungen, z.B. zwischen Erzeuger und Verarbeiter oder auf punktuelle Kontakte wie etwa zwischen Ladenverkäufer und Endkunde. Stattdessen bringt sie in großer Runde alle an der Wertschöpfung beteiligten Partner zum offenen Austausch zusammen – vom Produzenten bis zum Konsumenten, der dank der in diesem Kreis herrschenden Transparenz zum mündigen Verbraucher wird. Mehr zu dieser Praxis finden Sie im Menüpunkt „fair & associative“ .

Auf unternehmerischer Seite schlägt sich der assoziative Zusammenhalt in Kooperationen bereits bestehender Betriebe nieder, er wirkt jedoch auch ganz konkret strukturbildend: wo einzelne Elemente im Kreis fehlen, werden diese in vereinter Initiative ergänzt. Mit der kooperativen Vernetzung wächst auch die Solidarität entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette – vom Biobauern über alle Verarbeitungs- und Handelsstufen bis zum Kunden. Die kooperative Solidarität reicht also buchstäblich „vom Acker bis auf den Teller“ („de la fourche à la fourchette“). Diese Form der Assoziierung zu fördern, war und ist erklärtes Ziel der BIOG-Gründer und aller Bio-Vermarktungsinitiativen, die aus ihr und um sie herum entstanden sind.

Als physischen Knotenpunkt dieser Initiativen nutzen Gruppe und Netzwerk das so genannte OIKOPOLIS-Zentrum in Munsbach. Sein Name transportiert den Geist der oben skizzierten Gemeinschaft. Er verbindet zwei altgriechische Begriffe zu einer zukunftsweisenden Mission: „Oikos“ (Haus- und Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft) und „Polis“, eine antike Form der Bürgergemeinde.

OIKO2_Draufsicht_bearb_bann

„Ob ich helfen kann, weiß ich nicht;
ein einzelner hilft nicht, sondern nur,
wer sich mit vielen zur rechten Stunde vereinigt.“

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe